E8 initiative aims to eliminate malaria in the SADC

Earlier this month in Windhoek, Namibia, Ministers of Health in the SADC (Southern Africa Development Community) countries launched “E8” a cross-border partnership to eliminate malaria.

According to the Roll Back Malaria website, the E8 -Elimination 8 – initiative “brings together Ministers from Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland, four low-burden countries which have been targeted for elimination by the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC), to work closely with their counterparts in neighbouring Angola, Mozambique, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, where malaria still has a serious impact on health and livelihoods.”

The RBM website’s Angola page also contains a detailed English language map that can be downloaded as a PDF which shows a province by province breakdown of malaria distribution in Angola. Although the page is in french, the map is in English.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: