For more information or to donate, leave a message below or contact:

Tako Koning, Angola MosquitoNet Project Committee Chairman – Luanda
tel: 244-923-505122, email:

Ana Maria Teixeira, Angola MosquitoNet Project Committe Finance Chairperson – Luanda
tel: 244-222-398798, email:


Tako Koning and an Oxfam employee on October 26, 2004 when the AMNP donated 2300 nets to Oxfam, the Norwegian Refugee Council, Development Workshop , the Baptist Mission in Uige.


Tako Koning, Gaffney Cline & Associates (Committee Chairperson)
Ana Maria Teixeira, Administration Officer, StatoilHydroAngola (Committee Finance Chairperson)
Elizabeth Halliday, Senior Geophysicist, Tullow Oil, Dublin
Gilda Alexander, General Accounting Analyst. Chevron Angola
Henriette Koning, English Language Instructor, Luanda
Laura Farrell, Hospital Volunteer, TB Sanatorium, Luanda
Manuel Soque, Document Control &Translation, BP Angola
Tony Congo, Logistician, Yme Foundation, Angola, Luanda


Committee members, donors and recipients of perma-nets, standing in front of bales containing 3500 nets, April 19, 2007.


Angola MosquitoNet Project chairperson Tako Koning is a Canadian geologist who was involved with this project since it started in 2000. He worked for 30 years for Texaco beginning in Canada and then globally. When Texaco merged with Chevron, Tako retired but stayed in Angola where he works as a advisor to Tullow Oil and is volunteer Residential Representative for Yme Foundation, a Norwegian NGO carrying out water and santitation projects in northern Angola.

Read more about Tako’s work with the Angola MosquitoNet Project in the February 2008 edition of the AAPG Explorer at

Ana Maria Teixeira, MosquitoNet Project Finance Chairperson, joined the project just shortly after it started. As Administration Officer with Norwegian oil company StatoilHydro, Ana Maria has a strong background in accounting and spreadsheets and monitors the project’s finances. Ana Maria is Angolan and has lived in the country all her life making her familiar with malaria and its impact on Angolans.

The other Committee members are a mix of Angolans (Gila Alexander, Manuel Soque and Tony Congo) and expatriates (Elizabeth Halliday, Henriette Koning and Laura Farell). With their wide variety of professional backgrounds, the committee members contribute significantly to the AMNP.

All photos unless otherwise indicated © Henriette.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: